Pier Sales Department: 8-5 Mon-Sat, 9-5 Sun | Parrish Service Department: 8-5 Mon-Sat, 9-4 Sun | Gas Dock: 8-8 Mon-Sun

Blog

Boat Safely In New York State

Published July 15th, 2019 by Robert Haggerty

7/15/19

With our NY State Summer in full swing, there will be thousands of recreational boaters hitting the water in the coming months. With so much activity in the Finger Lakes, it is important to know your basic boaters safety rules so that the water can be a fun and safe place for everyone. Below are some reminders of ways to stay safe on our lakes all summer long! 

Boater Safety Courses:

New Law Effective May 1st 2014
All individuals born on or after 5/1/96 are now required to successfully complete an approved course in boater education in order to operate a motorboat. Approved courses include those offered by NYS Parks, the U.S. Coast Guard AuxiliaryLeaving New York State Parks, the U.S. Power SquadronsLeaving New York State Parks or U.S.PowerboatingLeaving New York State Parks. Individuals less than 10 years of age may not take this course of instruction. Certain allowances to this law have been made for visitors to New York, persons renting a boat from a livery and persons purchasing a new boat for the first time. 

Even for those born before 5/1/96, boater safety courses are recommended for all to fully understand the laws while operating a boat on our water ways. The more you know, the better off you will be! 

Required Boater Safety Gear:

- Life Jackets: Who must wear a Life Jacket and when?

  • Children under the age of 12 aboard pleasure vessels less than 65 feet in length, canoes, kayaks or rowboats unless in a totally enclosed cabin
  • Everyone being towed (wakeboarding, water skiing, tubing, etc.)
  • Everyone aboard pleasure vessels less than 21 feet in length, including rowboats, canoes, and kayaks, while underway between November 1st and May 1st 
  • Everyone aboard a PWC

NY State also requires that you have one life jacket on board for every  one person on the boat. So for example, if you have 8 total persons aboard your watercraft, you must have at least 8 total life jackets aboard the boat. 

- Visual Distress Signals: Per the official NYS Boaters Guide "State law requires all vessels 16 feet and greater, except for rowboats, kayaks and canoes to carry USCG approved day and nighttime visual distress signals". The following items are recognized as visual distress signals in NY State. 

  • Red Parachute Flares
  • Red Hand-Held Flare
  • Red Meteor Flare
  • 3'x3' Distress Flag
  • Orange Hand Held Distress Signal

- Fire Extinguisher: All mechanically propelled vessels, except outboards less than 26 feet in length and of open construction, must carry one B-I US Coast Guard approved fire extinguisher. Mechanically propelled vessels 26 feet to less than 40 feet in length must carry two B-I US Coast Guard approved fire extinguishers. Mechanically propelled vessels 40 feet to less than 65 feet in length must carry three B-I US Coast Guard approved fire extinguishers. Vessels 65 feet and greater in length should consult federal regulations.

- Anchor: All mechanically propelled vessels, except PWC, must carry an anchor and line of sufficient weight and strength to provide the vessel with safe anchorage. Select an anchor for the type of waters in which you’ll be operating. Generally speaking, the prudent mariner should have an anchor which can hold a vessel when subjected to the worst conditions of wind and wave that might typically be encountered. The anchor line should also be between 7 and 10 times the depth of water in which you normally anchor.

- Whistle or Horn: All mechanically propelled vessels 12 meters (39 ft.) and greater in length must carry a whistle which must be a mechanical device capable of producing a blast of two or more seconds in duration. On vessels less than 12 meters (39 ft.) in length a mouth whistle may be used.

- Additional Suggested Equipment: 

  • First Aid Kit
  • Oar/Paddle
  • Tool Kit
  • Compass
  • Bilge Pump/Bailer
  • Marine Radio
  • Boat Hook
  • Spare Parts

- Navigation Lights: Recreational vessels must display their required navigational lights at all times between sunset and sunrise, and during periods of restricted visibility. Sail vessels less than 7 meters (23 ft.) in length as well as manually propelled vessels may carry, in lieu of fixed lights, a lantern with a white light which can be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent a collision. Law enforcement vessels may also exhibit a blue flashing light.

- Anchor Lights: According to State Law, a vessel under 150 feet when at anchor shall carry forward at a height not to exceed 20 feet above the hull, a white light visible all round.

Rules of the Nautical Road: via NYS Boaters Safety Guide 

The rules of the road are an accepted standard by which all mariners are to comply when operating a vessel upon the water. Basically the rules require that every operator conduct his/her vessel in a prudent manner, at a safe speed, while constantly maintaining a proper lookout by all means available.

- The Sound Signals: All vessels are required to exchange sound signals when their paths will lead them into any close quarters situation. The following signals are prescribed for use by vessels when within sight of each other, to signal their intentions with respect to maneuvering:

  • 1. One short blast - “I intend to leave you on my port side.” Often this means a change in course to starboard (right).
  • 2. Two short blasts - “I intend to leave you on my starboard side.” Often this means a change in course to port (left).
  • 3. Three short blasts - “I am operating astern propulsion.” Usually means that you are backing down.
  • 4. Five or more short blasts - commonly known as the danger signal and is used when either vessel doubts whether sufficient action is being taken by the other vessel to avoid collision.
  • 5. One prolonged blast – the boat is leaving its slip. It is also used for indicating your boats presence when coming around a bend. (A short blast is that of one second in duration. A prolonged blast is that of four to six seconds in duration.)

- The Situations: In the following situations we use the terms “Stand-on” or “Give-way”. The Stand-on vessel is generally required by the rules to maintain both course and speed. The Give-way vessel is required to take early and substantial action to keep clear and avoid colliding with the other vessel. Meeting. In this situation both vessels will pass within close proximity to one another on nearly reciprocal headings. The rules require that in this situation both vessels should exchange one short blast and pass with sufficient room on each other’s port side. In this case both vessels are required to give way.

  • Meeting: In this situation both vessels will pass within close proximity to one another on nearly reciprocal headings. The rules require that in this situation both vessels should exchange one short blast and pass with sufficient room on each other’s port side. In this case both vessels are required to give way.
  • Crossing: Here both vessels are approaching each other at perpendicular or oblique angles and expect to pass close to one another. The rules specify that the vessel which has the other on its starboard side must keep out of the way. In this case the give way vessel should sound one short blast and alter course to starboard thus leaving the stand on vessel to port. 
  • Overtaking: This situation exists when one vessel is coming up from any direction two or more points abaft (behind) the other vessel’s beam. The overtaking vessel is considered the give-way vessel and must keep clear of the vessel it is overtaking. The overtaking vessel should sound its intentions with respect to the desired side of passing, and the overtaken vessel must stand-on until the other vessel is past and clear. 

Speed: In New York State, vessel speed is generally limited to 5 mph when within 100 feet of the shore, a dock, pier, raft, float, or anchored boat. On some specific bodies of water the 5 mph limit has been extended to 200 feet, and there may also be a 45 mph daytime and 25 mph nighttime speed limit. Local ordinances may further regulate the speed of boats operated within specific areas, check with authorities regarding local regulations. When no speed limit is posted, vessels must always be operated in such a fashion so as not to endanger others. A vessel must be able to stop within a distance appropriate to the prevailing conditions A vessel operator is responsible for any damage caused by the vessel’s wake. Prudent judgment requires operators to reduce speed when passing marinas, fishing vessels, work boats or other similar areas. When encountering marine regattas or parades, always transit with an escort vessel. Should no escort vessel be provided, vessels should only proceed at a safe, no wake speed, as far away from the regatta as safely possible.

To find the complete NYS Boaters Guide, click the following link (https://parks.ny.gov/recreation/boating/documents/NYSBoatersGuide.pdf

Want to find a boaters safety course? Use the following resrouces to find a safety course near you!

• New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation – www.WearItNewYork.com

• United States Coast Guard Auxiliary – www.cgaux.org

• United States Power Squadron – www.usps.org

Wake for Warriors at Seager Marine

Published July 10th, 2019 by Art Benham

Tyee & Crossover Sales Event

Published June 13th, 2019 by Robert Haggerty

- 6/13/2019

If you are looking for a great deal on the fishing boat of your dreams, Lund may have just what you are looking for. Lund Boats just announced a limited sales event offering great discounts on existing 2018 and 2019 Lund Tyee and Crossover boats. From today, June 13th until the end of the month Lund is offering $1,400.00 off of in stock Tyee models, and $1,000.00 off in stock Crossover model boats. This sale ends at midnight on June 30th so take advantage while you can! 

Win A Free Boat!

Published April 19th, 2019 by Robert Haggerty

- April 19, 2019 

Are you getting excited for the best summer ever? Seager Marine has teamed up with Shepard Ford to help you get ready. From now until July 1st, when you buy a new 2019 Ford F-150 or a new 2019 Ford F-Super Duty, you will be entered into a drawing to win a brand new Lund Fishing Boat (Lund WC-14 with Honda BF-9.9). Details for the promotion as shown in the flyer below. 

- Questions? Give Shepard Ford a call at (585) 394-1000. 

 

 

Breaking News! Lund Extends Spring Catch Incentives for Select Boats

Published April 3rd, 2019 by Robert Haggerty

- April 3, 2019 

Lunds Boats last great incentive program of the season ended this past Sunday, March 21st. Though come Tuesday morning, Lund sent out great news for fishermen and boaters looking to get into a new Lund this upcoming season. The Lund Spring Catch event has been extended for Level 4 models through APRIL 22, 2019! The incentives apply to the following Lund models: 

Models:

- Fury XL

- Rebel XL

- Rebel XS

- Adventure 1775 Sport 

- Adventure 1775 SS 

- Adventure 1675 Sport

- Adventure 1675 SS 

- Adventure 1675 Tiller 

Incentives: 

2017/18 Models

2019 Models
$1000.00 $750.00

All included Lund Models through this promotion will also include a FREE STANDARD TRAVEL COVER until April 22nd. These will be the last great Lund incentives for the season, so if you have been looking to get into a new boat for the summer, now is the time! 

 

 

Archives

Two locations to serve your boating needs!
Service Department & General Office
21 Parrish Street
Canandaigua NY 14424
Phone: 585-394-1372
Get Directions 1
 
Sales Department & Marina
811 South Main Street
Canandaigua NY 14424
Phone: 585-394-1372
Get Directions 2